Skip to main content

Eboni Zamani-Gallaher joins Graduate College


The Graduate College is extremely pleased to announce that Professor Eboni Zamani-Gallaher has agreed to serve as Associate Dean of the Graduate College effective August 16, 2018. Dean Zamani-Gallaher’s primary responsibilities will be in the area of diversity, equity, and inclusion. She will continue to serve in the Department of Education Policy, Organization, and Leadership as Associate Head of the EPOL Department and as the Director of the Office of Community College Research and Leadership (OCCRL).

Dr. Zamani-Gallaher holds a PhD in Higher Education Administration with a specialization in Community College Leadership and Educational Evaluation from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. For the last two decades, Dr. Eboni M. Zamani-Gallaher has conducted research on marginalized student populations in marginalized institutional contexts. Namely, her work has focused on access, broadening participation, and equitable postsecondary educational trajectories for diverse collegians in two- and four-year institutions. Her studies span policy relevant inquiry on affirmative action in college admissions, postsecondary prison education, and ADA compliance to addressing campus climate for racially minoritized students, students with disabilities, LGBTQIA collegians, and student veterans.

Dr. Zamani-Gallaher received the 2018 Senior Scholar Award from the Association of College Personnel Administrators (ACPA) - College Educators International and 2017 Senior Scholar awardee of the Council for the Study of Community Colleges (CSCC). She is also an ACPA Diamond Honoree (2017) and the Association for the Study of Higher Education (ASHE) Council on Ethnic Participation Mildred B. Garcia Senior Exemplary Scholarship Awardee. Dr. Zamani-Gallaher served as president of the Council for the Study of Community Colleges (CSCC), an affiliate of the American Association of Community Colleges (2013-2014) and served as Director for Research and Scholarship for the ACPA (2015-2018). 

Photo by L. Brian Stauffer