Skip to main content

For information related to the COVID-19 outbreak, visit:

Research Live!


Congratulations to the 2021 Research Live! Finalists and Winners

  • First Place: Sherry Yi, PhD in Educational Psychology, "Using Videogames to Spark Interest for Learning"
  • Second Place: Shonit Nair Sharma, MD in Medicine, "Paperometer: A Low-cost Incentive Spirometer"
  • Third Place: Joseph Puthussery, PhD in Environmental Engineering in Civil Engineering, "Ambient Particulate Matter Induced Toxicity"
  • People's Choice: Maitreyee Sharma Priyadarshini, PhD in Aerospace Engineering, "Trying Not to Burnout, Literally!"
  • Finalist: Aubrie Powell, PhD in Musicology, "Why Consider Country?"
  • Finalist: Caitlin Bloomer, MS in Natural Resources and Environmental Sciences, "Mapping the Route to Crayfish Conservation"
  • Finalist: Hanna Dahlstrom, MS in Library & Information Science, "Preserving Videogames in the 21st Century"
  • Finalist: Karen Chiu, PhD in Nutritional Sciences, "Phthalates: The Everywhere Ingredient"
  • Finalist: Ragini Chakraborty, PhD in Comparative Literature, "Bodies at the Borders: Exploring Gendered Violence During 1947 Partition"
  • Finalist: Sara Bell, PhD in Chemistry, "Single Cell Chemistry of the Brain"
  • Finalist: Taylor Jorgensen, PhD in Neuroscience, "Circadian Rhythms in Astrocytes"
  • Finalist: Travis Dore, PhD in Physics, "Hydro All the Way Down"

Check out videos from our past competitions on Media Space.

Interested in more of the Research Live! story? Check out the #ILLINOISResearchLive hashtag on Twitter and Instagram.



A panel of judges will award three prizes in the final round. Finals audience members will vote for the People's Choice Award:

  • First prize: $300
  • Second prize: $200
  • Third prize: $150
  • People's Choice: $100