Skip to main content

Fellowship Board

Comprised of distinguished faculty from across campus, the Fellowship Board determines recipients of the Graduate College's main fellowship and grant programs. Those programs include the Illinois Distinguished Fellowships, Doctoral & Master's Merit Fellowships, Aspire Fellowships, Distinguished Graduate Fellowships in the Humanities & Arts, Dissertation Completion Fellowships, and Travel Grants. The Fellowship Board also advises the Graduate College on fellowship-related issues and plays a key role in helping the University of Illinois recruit and support exemplary graduate students.

Fellowship Board Membership 2022-2023


Ken Vickery, Director of Fellowships

section 1: diversity & INCLUSION recruitment fellowships (dOCTORAL/mASTER'S mERIT fellowships & aspire fellowships)

Engineering, Physical Sciences, & Mathematics (Area I)

Karen Mortensen 2022-2025 Mathematics
R. Mohan Sankaren 2022-2025 Nuclear, Plasma, & Radiation Engineering
Vetle Torvik 2021-2024 Information Sciences

Humanities & Arts (Area II)

Manisha Basu 2020-2023 English
Jason P. Chambers 2022-2025 Media
Adam Kruse 2022-2025 Music

Social & Behavioral Sciences & Professional Programs (Area III)

Andrew J. Greenlee 2022-2025 Urban & Regional Planning
Brian Jordan Jefferson 2022-2025 Geography & Geographic Information Science
Sharde Smith 2021-2024 Human Development & Family Studies

Biological & Agricultural Sciences (Area IV)

Juanmahel Davila 2021-2024 Comparative Biosciences
Zeynep Madak-Erdogan 2022-2023 Food Science & Human Nutrition
(Graduate College Faculty Fellow)
James O'Dwyer 2022-2025 Plant Biology

section 2: illinois distinguished fellowships, distinguished graduate fellowships in humanities & arts, dissertation completion fellowships, & travel grants

Engineering, Physical Sciences, & Mathematics (Area I)

Lance Cooper   2021-2024 Physics
Wawosz Dobrucki 2020-2023 Bioengineering
R. S. Sreenivas 2022-2025 Industrial & Enterprise Systems Engineering

Humanities & Arts (Area II)

Christina Bashford 2020-2023 Music
Javier Irigoyen-Garcia 2021-2024 Spanish & Portuguese
Peter Leslie Mortensen 2022-2025 English

Behavioral & Social Sciences & Professional Programs (Area III)

Christy L. Lleras 2022-2025 Human Development & Family Studies
Anna-Maria Marshall 2020-2023 Sociology
Matthew S. Winters 2022-2025 Political Science

Biological & Agricultural Sciences (Area IV)

Maria Cattai de Godoy  2021-2024 Animal Sciences
CheMyong Jay Ko 2022-2025 Comparative Biosciences
Yuan-Xiang Pan 2022-2025 Food Science & Human Nutrition