Skip to main content

Four Graduate Students to be Honored for Survey Research Excellence

On Thursday, July 14, four doctoral students will be honored by the Survey Research Laboratory for the quality of their dissertation work utilizing survey research methodology. The two awards and two runners up are presented in memory of Drs. Ferber and Sudman, eminent scholars at the University of Illinois in the field of survey research.

Sandy Wong will receive the 2016 Robert Ferber Award for her work on “Dis/abling Mobilities: Urban-Rural Experiences of Visual Impairment, Employment, and Well-Being.” Wong is a PhD candidate in the department of Geography and Geographic Information Science.

Ken Kern from the department of Kinesiology and Community Health will receive the 2016 Seymour Sudman Award for his dissertation titled “Barriers to and Facilitators of Physical Education Teacher Change.”

Pongsakorn Suppakittpaisarn (PhD candidate, Landscape Architecture) was selected for the 2016 Robert Ferber Honorable Mention and Amanda Cronkhite (PhD candidate, Political Science) was selected for the 2016 Seymour Sudman Honorable Mention.

The award ceremony is open to the public and will be held at 11 a.m. on Thursday, July 14 at the Survey Research Laboratory at 616 E. Green Street, Suite 203. View the invitation and RSVP to if you are interested in attending.

Past winners of the Dissertation Awards can be viewed online