Skip to main content

Graduate College Annual Workshop

Tuesday, October 4, 2016, I-Hotel & Conference Center


8:15-8:30 - Refreshments and Check-in

8:30-8:50  - Welcome/Opening Remarks by Wojtek Chodzko-Zajko, dean of the Graduate College

8:50-9:00  - Presentation of the Graduate Contact Award for Excellence

Breakout Sessions

  Topic: Graduate Student Orientation Topic: Development of New Graduate Programs
9:10-10:00 Pre-Arrival Communication Program Proposal Development & Campus Governance
10:10-11:00 On-Arrival Communication Development of Online Programs & Campus Resources
11:00-11:10 Break Break
11:10-12:00 First-Year Experience "Office Hours" Development of New Graduate Programs


About the Breakout Sessions:

Pre-Arrival Communication

Detailed overview of information students receive from the Graduate College upon accepting their offer of admission up until arrival on campus.

Presented by: Elizabeth Spark (Director of Graduate Admissions and Enrollment Services) and Charlotte Bauer (Director of Communications, Graduate College)

Session Handouts (1)

Session Handouts (2)

On-Arrival Communication


Overview and opportunity for discussion of information, programming, and events provided to incoming Graduate Students upon their arrival to campus by the College of Engineering and by International Student Scholar Services. 

Presented by: Rhonda McElroy (Director of Graduate Programs, College of Engineering) and Lily Huang (International Advising Specialist, International Student and Scholar Services).  Moderated by Anne Kopera (Assistant Dean, Graduate College).

Session Handouts (1)

Session Handouts (2)

First Year Experience


Overview and opportunity for discussion of GradMap, a workshop for graduate students to set and put into action 6-12 month goals, and three seminars offered by graduate programs to assist students with practical questions about their field of study, academic life, the profession, and careers. The three seminars featured are Sociology 510 Professionalization Seminar and History 593 Approaches to History and its accompanying non-credit First-year Graduate Student Proseminar. 

Presented by Kevin Leicht (Professor and Head Department of Sociology) and Mark Steinberg (Professor and Director of Graduate Studies Department of History) and Alexis Thompson (Assistant Dean, Graduate College). Moderated by Anne Kopera (Assistant Dean, Graduate College).

Session Handouts

Program Proposals and Campus Governance

Tools for developing and writing program proposals and an overview of the campus governance process for new graduate programs.

Presented by: Allison McKinney (Director Academic Programs, Policies and Academic Services, Graduate College) and Kathy Martensen (Assistant Provost for Educational Programs, Provost Office)

Session Handouts

Development of Online Graduate Programs

Overview of campus resources available to aide in the development of new online graduate programs.

Presented by: Anna Mehl (Assistant Director, Center for Innovation in Teaching and Learning) and Jason Mock (Assistant Director for Educational Innovation, Center for Innovation in Teaching and Learning)

Session Handouts

“Office Hours” Development of New Graduate Programs

An opportunity to meet one on one with staff from the Graduate College, the Center for Innovation in Teaching & Learning and the Illinois Professional Science Masters program for assistance and feedback related to your program/department interests and needs.

Participants: Allison McKinney (Graduate College),  Elizabeth Spark (Graduate College), Natalie Bosecker (Illinois Professional Science Masters Program), Anna Mehl and Jason Mock (CITL)

Contacts Award for Excellence

The pool of nominations was extremely competitive this year, with strong nominations coming in from all over campus. It is very moving to read of the commitment of the nominees to their department and their relationships with the students.

Cynthia Dodds, Center for Biophysics & Quantitative Biology was the recipient of the Graduate College Excellence Award for Graduate Contacts for 2016.

Congratulations Cindy!